HOW TO EAT HEALTHY

Shopping for Gluten-Free Food can be a New Learning Experience

Though it may seem like a gluten-free diet is very restrictive, there are plenty of foods that are naturally gluten-free:

 

  • Meat
  • Fish
  • Eggs
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Dairy products

Whole Foods – Whole Goodness

 

GLUTEN SHOWS UP IN UNEXPECTED FOODS – CHECK LABELS CAREFULLY

For example:

  1. Soy Sauce – the alternative is to use Tamari which is Gluten-free certified
  2. Some Ice Creams
  3. Beer
  4. Many soups
  5. Some prescription medications
  6. Pre-prepared meat, chicken and fish in marinades from the Deli department

And this list is not comprehensive.

REMEMBER TO CLEAN OUT THE PANTRY

  • Soy Sauce – replace with Tamari
  • Salad Dressings – make your own – recipe follows
  • Marinades, Sauces and Gravies
  • Canned Soups
  • Bread Crumbs
  • Puddings
  • Processed Meats
  • Fast Foods and Ready-Made Meals
  • Some Ice-Creams

If you’re not sure about a food or ingredient, avoid eating it and learn to identify those ingredients that may contain gluten.  You must become aware of gluten hiding in some not-so-obvious foods such as deli meats, soups, hard candies, soy sauce, even salad dressings.  When in doubt, stay away!  You must be very diligent if you expect to see healing.

Gluten is also often used as a binder in prescription medicines. Again ask your doctor about gluten in medications.

You should probably stay away from alcohol altogether.  Beer MUST be avoided, but alcohol that’s been distilled is believed to be OK.
Sometimes gluten products are added to alcohols and vinegars after the distilling process and should be avoided entirely.  Malt vinegars are not distilled and are not gluten-free.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.